Need Info 1971 Py Barracuda

• Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 Ted Anderson

Ted Anderson

• Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
  • Interests:Saving old boats and cars from the scrapheap. Not because of any hopes of a financial reward, but for the sole purpose of remembering preserving simpler time...<br /><br /><br />Oh yes, and ham radio W2FDR.

Posted 17 July 2009 - 04:39 PM

Attached File  1971_Penn_Yan_22CC_813A_003.jpg   619.81KB   73 downloadsAttached File  penn_yan_1971.jpg   186.58KB   155 downloadsHi Everyone, I've been boating for about 14 years and have come across a nice, old, Penn Yan. I have owned inboards before, but never a tunnel drive....nor powered a boat powered by a Chrysler 318.

I have come across a 1971 PY Barracuda (22' trihull) for sale in upstate NY which has spent its entire life on a lake. I really like the layout, but am concerned about the manifolds/risers which are clearly marked CHRYSLER. The boat is currently in use by a marina as one of their "tow boats"... so it hasn't been laid up for years unused.

My questions if I purchase the boat:

Should I plan on an immediate replacement of the manifolds and risers?
Are there any issues about the PY trihulls[b] as far as rough water goes?
Should I just stay away from her because she's old? (1971)

The asking price is 3000. without a trailer.

All imput would be appreciated. I live at the NJ shore and do only bay boating... nothing in the ocean.

Thank you,
Ted
1971 Penn Yan Barracuda
Little Egg Harbor, NJ 08087

#2 scottk

scottk

• Members
  • Pip
  • 384 posts

Posted 17 July 2009 - 05:31 PM